Skip to main content

Ethical Topics: Bibliography

Harvard Style

You must include a bibliography using Cite This For Me set to the Harvard Style.

Please seek assistance from the Learning Commons staff when preparing your bibliography.

Begin your bibliography as soon as you begin investigating (researching) by recording the following as a minimum.

Internet sources:

  • record the date you used the source and the URL/Web address

For print sources:

  • record the author, title, date of publication, place of publication and publisher

Create a bibliograhphy: Cite This For Me

Remember to copy and paste your bibliography enteries as you go. Cite This For Me will only save your bibliography for 6 days. 

How to use Cite This For Me

Citing religious texts

References to the Jewish or Christian scriptures usually appear in text citations or notes rather than in bibliographies. Parenthetical or note references to the Bible should include book (in roman and usually abbreviated), chapter, and verse—never a page number. A colon is used between chapter and verse. 

Versions of Religious Texts:

Since books and numbering are not identical in different versions [of religious texts], it is essential to identify which version is being cited. For a work intended for general readers, the version should be spelled out, at least on first occurrence. For specialists, abbreviations may be used throughout. 

In-Text Citation:

(Book chapter: verse, version)

Example:

1.2 Kings 11:8 (New Revised Standard Version).        OR            1.2 Kings 11:8 (NRSV).

Bibliography Entry:

You do not need a bibliographic entry unless your teacher instructs you to include one.
 
[Source]: West Virginia University Library

In-text citations

In-text citations refers to the acknowledgement of a source of information you have paraphrased or summarised within the body of your text or work.

A bibliography appears at the end of your work. It is called end-text.

If you have used different words or simplified the text you must acknowledge the source at the end of the paragraph.

The author's name and date of publication should be included in brackets at the end of the section. e.g. (Harris, 2015)

Quotations used in your work must also be acknowledged in-text and "quotation" marks must be used followed by a citation with the page number (Harris, 2015 p 45-46)

Definition: Paraphrase: express the meaning of something written or spoken using different words, especially to achieve greater clarity.

Sample Bibliography

References

American woodworker, (2015). Woodworking Around the Home with the Neighborhood Carpenter - 05 Little Free Library. [video] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMApN1EHEQU [Accessed 23 Nov. 2015].

Announcement flyer. (2015). 1st ed. [ebook] Hudson: Little Free Library, p.1. Available at: http://littlefreelibrary.org/stewards-friends/how-to-information/ [Accessed 5 Oct. 2015].

Bone, C. (2012). Five reasons to build a little free library. Kidaround, 5(4), p.21.

Brown, S. (2014). Little Free Libraries popping up across Melbourne. [online] ABC News. Available at: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-12-03/little-free-library-movement-takes-off-in-melbourne/5936466 [Accessed 17 Nov. 2015].

Corbett, S. (2013). The complete illustrated guide to woodworking. Leicestershire: Southwater.

Kresse, J. (2015). This Little Free Library on Springfield Avenue was modeled after a little red schoolhouse. [image] Available at: http://bayviewcompass.com/take-a-book-leave-a-book-at-a-little-free-library/ [Accessed 9 Nov. 2015].

Little Free Library, (2015). The history of the little free library. [online] Available at: http://littlefreelibrary.org/ourhistory/ [Accessed 30 Sep. 2015].

Wilonsky, R. (2015). Dallas throws the book at family’s Little Free Library, but city officials are looking for a happy ending. The Dallas Morning News. [online] Available at: http://cityhallblog.dallasnews.com/2015/04/dallas-throws-the-book-at-familys-little-free-library-but-city-officials-are-looking-for-a-happy-ending.html/ [Accessed 30 Apr. 2015].