Skip to main content

International Aid Organisation: Millennium Development Goals

Resources to support the Year 7 study of International Aid Organisations

8 MDGs at a glance

By 2015

The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest.

1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger

2. Achieve universal primary education

3. Promote gender equality and empower women

6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases

7. Ensure environmental sustainability

8. Global partnership for development