Skip to main content

Year 12 Infomatics: Organisations and Data Management

To support the Unit 3 and 4 Study of Infomatics

Key Concepts

In Area of Study 1, students use relational database management system software to create a database solution and a graphics tool to represent how data flows on a website when users undertake online transactions.

Standard Query Language (SQL)

SQL is the programming language that is used to build, query and report on the contents of a database.

Overview

In this area of study students investigate why organisations acquire data online for transaction processing and how they structure their data-gathering processes to support these transactions. Students also:

  • develop and apply skills in using a relational database management system (RDBMS) to manipulate data typically sourced through interactive online solutions, such as websites and applications (apps).
  • examine how value can be added to this data through the careful structuring of data and the application of functions, such as queries, searches and reports, that identify patterns and relationships between data sets.
  • investigate interactive online solutions to ascertain the types of data being acquired, how it is obtained and protected and how transactions are completed. They design a user flow diagram that traces different ways in which users interact with online solutions when initiating and completing transactions, acknowledging that there can be multiple entry points and multiple interactions.
  • diagrammatically represent the user interface of the page on which the user commences an online transaction.
  • examine how organisations fulfil their legal requirements to protect the rights of those who provide data and why organisations want the data organised in particular ways.
  • consider the fundamentals of an RDBMS; that is, fields and data types, data structures and the relationships between data sets.
  • learn to describe data types and data structures, and apply functions, techniques, formats and conventions to store, validate and manipulate data, and to present suitable solutions. When tracing user interactions and developing a solution, students respond to two teacher-provided design briefs: one relates to how users interact with an online solution when conducting a transaction; the other provides details of why an RDBMS solution is needed, and includes data. The contexts of the briefs can be the same or different. In this area of study there is an emphasis on the design and development stages of the problem-solving methodology. 
  • apply design and systems thinking skills when problem solving.

 

Key Knowledge

Key Knowledge How do I demonstrate this

Data and information

  • techniques used by organisations to acquire data through their interactive online solutions and reasons for their choice
  • techniques for efficient and effective data collection
  • characteristics of data types
Demonstrate this key knowledge by being able to clearly articulate these knowledge points.

Digital systems

  • physical and software security controls used by organisations to protect their data
 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

 

Unit 3 Outcome 1

On completion of this unit the student should be able to design a solution, develop it using a relational database management system, and diagrammatically represent how users interact with an online solution when supplying data for a transaction.