Skip to main content

The Golden Age (Joan London): Joan London (Author)

To support the study of "The Golden Age" by Joan London.

Joan London

Joan Elizabeth London (born 24 July 1948) is an Australian author of short stories, screenplays and novels.

She graduated from the University of Western Australia having studied English and French, has taught English as a second language and is a bookseller. She lives in Fremantle, Western Australia, with her husband Geoffrey. 

London is the author of two collections of stories. The first, Sister Ships, won The Age Book of the Year (1986), and the second, Letter to Constantine, won the Steele Rudd Award and the West Australian Premier's Award for Fiction (both in 1994). The two were published together as The New Dark Age. She has published three novels, Gilgamesh, The Good Parents and The Golden Age. She was awarded the Patrick White Award in 2015.


About the Author

Set in a polio clinic in Perth in 1954, ‘The Golden Age’ tells the story of 13-year-old Frank Gold, his parents and his fellow patients. Join author Joan London (‘Gilgamesh’, ‘The Good Parents’) in conversation with Steven Gale.