Skip to main content

Personal Project 2017/18: Criterion A: Investigating

Criterion A: Investigating

i. define a clear goal and a global context for the project based on personal interests

ii. identify prior learning and subject specific knowledge relevant to the project

iii. demonstrate research skills

Criterion A strand i: define a clear goal and global context for the project, based on personal interests

Criterion A – Investigating

Strand i: define a clear goal and global context for the project, based on personal interests

Personal Interest: explaining the project's value from a personal perspective by demonstrating intellectual curiosity; family connection; social cultural or geographical relevance; individual passion - why this project makes sense at this time.

Global Context: considering the project as a globally or developmental challenge broadening its international perspective to consider "our common humanity and shared guardianship of the planet" from the perspective of a global context.

Goal: identifying what you want to achieve or accomplish within the available time (at least 25 hours for the complete project) and resources

Goals must be related to, but might be different than products or outcomes. Here are some examples:

goal (what the student wants to achieve)

product or outcome (how the student will demonstrate successful achievement of their goal)

getting fit completing a half-marathon
raising awareness creating a flier and using it in a publicity campaign
exploring an artistic genre composing an original artwork
Level Strand descriptor Task-specific clarification
1-2 state a goal and global context for the project, based on personal interests, but this may be limited in depth or accessibility The student states a goal that is unrealistic or shallow which does not have a clear connection to personal interests or the stated global context
3-4 outline a basic and appropriate goal and global context for the project, based on personal interests The student outlines a simple or easily-achievable goal that identifies a relevant global context.
5-6 develop a clear and challenging goal and global context for the project, based on personal interests

Based on personal interest, the student develops a clear goal that:

  • explains what makes the goal challenging
  • details the goal's relationship to a relevant global context
7-8 develop a clear and highly challenging goal and global context for the project, based on personal interest

Based on personal interest, the student develops a clear goal that:

  • justifies the goal as highly challenging
  • meaningfully relates to a global context
State Give a specific name, value or other brief answer without explanation or calculation
Outline Give a brief account or summary
Develop Improve incrementally, elaborate or expand in detail. Evolve to a more advanced or effective state

Criterion A strand ii: identify prior learning and subject-specific knowledge relevant to the project

Criteria A - Investigating

Strand ii: identify prior learning and subject-specific knowledge relevant to the project

Prior learning: personal experience and subject-specific knowledge and understanding developed in school or in the world beyond the classroom.

Level Strand Descriptor Task-specific clarification
1-2 identify prior learning and subject- specific knowledge, but this may be limited in occurrence or relevance states some prior learning relevant to the project
3-4 identify basic prior learning and subject-specific knowledge relevant to some areas of the project outlines prior learning relevant to some aspect of the project
5-6 identify prior learning and subject- specific knowledge generally relevant to the project outlines prior learning relevant to some aspect of the project
7-8 identify prior learning and subject- specific knowledge that is consistently highly relevant to the project describes with appropriate detail prior learning relevant to the project
Identify Provide an answer from a number of possibilities.  Recognize and state briefly a distinguishing fact or feature.
State Give a specific name, value or other brief answer without explanation or calculation.
Outline Give a brief account or summary.
Describe Give a detailed account or picture of a situation, event, pattern or process.
Analyse Break down in order to bring out the essential elements or structure. (To identify parts and relationships, and interpret information to reach conclusions.)

Criterion A strand iii: demonstrate research skills

Criterion A – Investigating

Strand iii: demonstrate research skills

Academic honesty: every instance of the use of the work or ideas of others must be cited in a format that is consistent and in line with the school’s recognized convention(s). Use the Harvard style of referencing and use in-text citations.

Bibliography: an alphabetical list of all sources used to complete the project; resources should be explicit, appropriate and noted in the project report

Research skills: information literacy and media literacy skills; for examples see the ATL skills tab of this LibGuide.

Level Strand descriptor Task-specific clarification
1-2 demonstrate limited research skills
  • Few or inappropriate sources have been researched and recorded.
  • There is little if any evaluation of sources’ reliability or relevance.
  • The bibliography is inappropriate, inconsistent and/or not used in the project report.
  • There is little evidence of other appropriate research skills.
3-4 demonstrate adequate research skills
  • A range of sources have been researched and recorded.
  • Specific sources selected for the project are evaluated for reliability or relevance.
  • The bibliography is consistent and used in the project report.
  • There is some evidence of other appropriate research skills.
5-6 demonstrate substantial research skills
  • An appropriate range of sources and variety of source types have been researched.
  • Specific sources selected for the project are evaluated effectively for reliability and relevance.
  • The bibliography is appropriate, consistent, and used effectively in the project report.
  • There is evidence of a range of appropriate research skills used effectively.
7-8 demonstrate excellent research skills
  • An extensive range of sources and variety of source types have been researched.
  • Sources are consistently and effectively evaluated for their reliability and relevance.
  • The bibliography is appropriate, consistent and used with sophistication in the project.
  • There is evidence of appropriate and sophisticated research skills used effectively.
Demonstrate Make clear by reasoning or evidence, illustrating with examples or practical application
Evaluate Make an appraisal by weighing up the strengths and limitations

Possible demonstration of ATL skills: Research

Possible demonstration of ATL skills: Research skills

Objective A: Investigating

Challenge level

  • Collect and record data/sources
  • Access information to be informed and to inform others through the project
  • Collect, record and verify data/sources
  • Find information specific to and surrounding the project, using a variety of media
  • Process data and report results
  • Take effective notes during project development
  • Collect, record, verify and use a range of data/sources
  • Identify primary and secondary sources
  • Compare, contrast and draw connections among resources
  • Seek a range of perspectives from multiple and varied sources to inform the project
  • Make connections between various sources of information, prior knowledge and subject-specific knowledge
  • Construct a bibliography according to recognised conventions appropriate for the task
  • Collect and analyse data to identify and make informed decisions to further the project
  • Create references and citations, use footnotes/endnotes and construct a bibliography according to recognised conventions
  • Locate, organise, analyse, evaluate, synthesise and ethically use information from a variety of sources and media (including digital social media and online networks)
  • Use critical-literacy skills to analyse and interpret information
  • Understand the impact of media representations of events and ideas (including digital social media)
  • Understand and implement intellectual property rights

Assessment Rubric

Investigating: tips and Hints

  • annotate your research notes in your process journal
  • record details about your source of information for your bibliography (URL, date of access or title and author etc)
  • explore the ATL page and make sure you are demonstrating excellent research skills
  • discuss your research within the Investigating section of your report